respecting umpires.

Started by rosemary pretty

< Back to forum topics

You must be logged in to reply on this topic.

Reply Message
Gilly Brown
Thu 21 Apr '11 @ 11:50am

UMPIRE ROTATION UPDATE - following mainly negative feedback at the AGM, the Committee has decided to withdraw the umpire rotation system. So this is just to say thank you for giving it a go! Shame it did not work out as intended, but better to have tried and failed than not to have tried at all (sounds a bit familiar!!).

Sharon
Tue 08 Feb '11 @ 11:55am

I'm just learning as an umpire and even at practicing when i'm by myself on a court i still get the 'look' and even though i feel i'm confident at teh side of the court this really puts me off. It is hard and a new SKILL i'm learning if people have that much of a problem with the umpires then they need to be give a rule book and find out what they are doing wrong. I don't mind when I'm asked what players are being pulled up on umpire rotation is good but maybe assigning an umpire to a team 1 division above their own team that way they get experience over a season and not the odd game.

Kerry Page
Mon 07 Feb '11 @ 5:59pm